Celebrating 50 Years of the CFA Charter

CFA Institute
  1. 2000s

    68,084 CFA charters are earned this decade.

  2. 2001

    Levels II and III go to 50% item set (they were first introduced in 2000 for a small portion of the exam).

  3. 2001

    Donald L. Tuttle, CFA Grading Excellence Award established. First recipients include: Donald L. Tuttle, CFA; Greta E. Marshall, CFA; James R. Vertin, CFA; Charles G. King, CFA.

  4. 2003

    First December Level I exam is administered. 20,657 sit for this exam.

  5. 2004

    52 percent of CFA candidates are from outside North America.

  6. 2004

    AIMR changes its name to CFA Institute.

  7. 2005

    Level II goes to 100% item set.

  8. 2005

    The Economist and the Financial Times (U.K.) name the CFA Program the “Gold Standard” of investment education.

  9. 2007

    Practice Analysis becomes continuous. More than 100,000 candidates sit for the CFA exams at 189 exam areas. 277 graders. London becomes the largest test center, surpassing New York, which had been the largest since 1963.

Visit us at www.cfainstitute.org